Skip to main content

The Innovators in Science Award, proudly sponsored by the Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited and administered by the New York Academy of Sciences, was established on November 10, 2016. The Award recognizes a promising Early Career Scientist and an outstanding Senior Scientist’s contributions to science in the therapeutic areas of Neuroscience, Gastroenterology, Regenerative Medicine or Oncology, and is intended to support their commitment to innovative research.
Two prizes of US$200,000 are awarded each year, in a specific therapeutic area, one to an Early Career Scientist and the other to a well-established Senior Scientist from across the globe who have distinguished themselves for the creative thinking and impact of their research.  
In 2017, we welcome nominations of Early Career Scientists and Senior Scientists in the field of Neuroscience.
Nominations are invited from the academic institutions listed here.
In addition, we also welcome nominations from government or non-profit institutions or equivalent around the world.
If your institution is not listed here and would like to nominate, we welcome submission of a brief statement of interest to
Institutional nominations must be submitted by the institution’s President, Provost, or the President’s official designee or equivalent (official designees must notify of the delegation of responsibilities). Each institution may nominate up to two (2) individuals per award year, one (1) Early Career Scientist and one (1) Senior Scientist.
For complete Award details, visit   
If you have any questions or experience technical difficulties, please contact the Innovators in Science Award team at or 212.298.8625 (Monday through Friday, 9AM - 5PM ET).


Brooke Grindlinger, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer, Scientific Programs and Awards
The New York Academy of Sciences

Proudly Supported by  Administered by